Kata Tjuta, Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park, Northern Territory

Kata Tjuta,  also known as Mount Olga or The Olgas, are a group of large domed rock formations or bornhardts. The 36 domes that make up Kata Tjuta / Mount Olga cover an area of 21.68 km2 are composed of conglomerate, a sedimentary rock consisting of cobbles and boulders of varying rock types including granite and basalt, cemented by a matrix of sandstone. The highest point, Mount Olga, is 1,066 m above sea level, or approximately 546 m above the surrounding plain, 198m higher than Uluru

centrekatatjuta09centrekatatjuta08centrekatatjuta01 centrekatatjuta02 centrekatatjuta03 centrekatatjuta04 centrekatatjuta05 centrekatatjuta06 centrekatatjuta07


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s