Uluru, Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park, Northern Territory

Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park is Aboriginal land, jointly managed by its traditional owners Anangu and Parks Australia.

The World Heritage listed park, 1,325 square kilometres in size, is in the spiritual heart of Australia’s Red Centre in the Northern Territory.


The ancient monolith Uluru is probably Australia’s best-known natural landmark. Uluru is better known as Ayers Rock; it named by William Gosse in 1873 after Sir Henry Ayers.

The rock was created over some 600 million years, and the Aborigines have been in the area for the last 10,000 years. It originally sat at the bottom of a sea, but today stands 348m above ground. Some 2.5kms of its bulk is underground.  Uluru is about 3.6kms long and 1.9kms wide, with a circumference of 9.4kms. The surface is made up of valleys, ridges, caves and weird shapes that were created through erosion over millions of years. Surface oxidation of its iron content gives the would-be grey Uluru a striking orange-red hue.

centreuluru18 centreuluru02 centreuluru03 centreuluru04 centreuluru05 centreuluru06 centreuluru07 centreuluru08 centreuluru09 centreuluru10 centreuluru11 centreuluru12 centreuluru13 centreuluru14 centreuluru15 centreuluru16 centreuluru17


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s